Currently Reading: Agatha Christie’s “The A.B.C. Murders”

Agatha Christie’s mystery novel The A.B.C. Murders was first published in the United Kingdom in 1936. The A.B.C. Murders is a novel about a murderer who targets people whose names begin with the letter A. Agatha Christie’s novel is a classic mystery.

Hercule Poirot, a Belgian detective, and Captain Arthur Hastings, his English friend and companion, appear in the novel.

The story is takes place in the fictional town of Kings Abbot, where a series of killings have been committed. Poirot must utilize his powers of deduction in order to crack the case because each of the victims’ initials are the same as the initials of their murderer. Poirot is being taunted by a killer who signs their correspondence “A.B.C.”, and the letters contain information about when and where the murderer plans to commit their next crime. Each victim is slain in alphabetical order, with the name correlating to the appropriate location: Alice Asher, Betty Barnard, and Charles Copeland are killed in Andover, Bexhill, and Churston respectively. The murders take place in Andover, Bexhill-on-Sea, and Churston.

David Suchet stars as Belgian detective Hercule Poirot in the best adaptation of Agatha Christie’s classic mystery.

The A.B.C. Murders is a well-written mystery novel with intriguing characters and plot. Christie’s use of the alphabet as a pattern adds another layer of complexity to the story. The novel is filled with suspense and plot twists that will keep the reader wondering until the very end.